Production instructions

Home  > INFO CENTER  > FAQ  > Production instructions  > 

FAQ-Classification Of Biological Safety Cabinets

FAQ-Classification Of Biological Safety Cabinets


What are the grades of biological safety cabinets?

Biological safety cabinets can be divided into three categories: first-class, second-class and third-class to meet different biological research and epidemic prevention requirements.

What is the role of biological safety cabinet level?

Class I biological safety cabinets protect workers and the environment without protecting samples. The airflow principle is the same as that of a laboratory fume hood, except that the exhaust port is fitted with a HEPA filter. All types of biological safety cabinets use HEPA filters on the exhaust and air intake. The first-class biological safety cabinet itself has no fan, and relies on the fan in the external ventilation duct to drive the airflow. Since it cannot provide protection for the test product or product, it is rarely used.

Class II biological safety cabinets are currently the most widely used cabinet types. Like Class I biological safety cabinets, Class II biological safety cabinets also have airflow into the front window opening, called the "air intake", to prevent aerosols that may be generated during microbial manipulation from escaping through the front window. Unlike Class I biological safety cabinets, the unfiltered intake air will be captured by the intake grille before reaching the work area, so the test item will not be polluted by the outside air. A unique feature of Class II biological safety cabinets is that the vertical laminar airflow filtered by the HEPA filter is blown down from the top of the cabinet, called "downdraft". The downdraft air continuously blows through the working area of the safety cabinet to protect the test items in the cabinet from contamination by external dust or bacteria.


Suzhou Pharma Machinery Co.,Ltd.



Chat Online
Chat Online
Leave Your Message inputting...
Sign in with: